• Teacher of the Year
    Outstanding Early Career Educator

    Illinois Teacher of the Year
    Since 1970, the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has sponsored the Illinois Teacher of the Year program, recognizing the best of the teaching profession in Illinois. All public and nonpublic preK-12 educators in Illinois with more than five years of teaching experience are eligible. The top nominees from eight regions are designated as Regional Teachers of the Year; the Illinois Teacher of the Year is selected from that cohort. We also recognize Bilingual, Early Childhood, and Special Education Teachers of the Year.

    Outstanding Early Career Educator
    The Outstanding Early Career Educator is presented to the top teacher in Illinois with one-four years of teaching experience.​​​​​​ Remaining nominees are awarded on two levels: Meritorious Service and Special Recognition.​

    Those Who Excel
    Also since 1970, the ISBE has sponsored Those Who Excel to honor individuals who have made​​ significant contributions to our state's public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools. Awards are presented in five ​categories: school administrator, student support personnel, educational service personnel, community volunteer and teams. Nomination materials are evaluated by a selection committee comprised of individuals who represent a variety of educational organizations. ​

    Award Distinctions Presented by ISBE: 
    Awards of Excellence, Meritorious Service, Special Recognition

    Click here for more information regarding
    ISBE's Illinois Teacher of the Year/Outstanding Early Career Educator program

    Click here for more information regarding ISBE's Those Who Excel program

     Employees:  Please go to the Intranet to nominate individuals 


    Updated October 2020

Last Modified on October 20, 2020