Return to Headlines

Murphy JH Musicians Participate in All Illinois Junior High Band

On February 8 and 9, Campbell Drane, Murphy percussionist, along with Reagan Lightfoot, Bednarcik baritone saxophonist, and Sean Elliott, Bednarcik alto saxophonist, participated in the 4th Annual All Illinois Junior Band Festival held at the University of Illiniois - Urbana Champaign.


The All-Illinois Junior Band was founded for the express purpose of creating a premier musical experience for the state’s finest middle school band students. As the first statewide middle school honor band in over half a century, membership in AIJB is determined solely through competitive blind auditions. Its goals are to provide an opportunity for middle school students to perform excellent literature with a mature ensemble and distinguished conductor, to interact with similarly dedicated student musicians from around the State of Illinois, and to encourage and inspire these outstanding young musicians to continue their musical studies.


Conductor this year was Dr. Elizabeth Peterson, band director and professor of music at the University of Illinois. 


Congratulations to our 3 oustanding District 308 musicians!

Murphy JH Band students