Return to Headlines

Students Named as Finalists in the 2022-2023 National Merit Scholarship Competition

Media Alert
For immediate release

Contact: Theresa Komitas
Phone: (630) 608-5031


Oswego, Ill. (March 8, 2023) — Congratulations to the following students from Oswego East High School for having been named as Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) Competition: Arjun Ramesh, Nicholas Rondon, and Aanya Roy. Finalists were provided with a Certificate of Merit from the NMSC for achieving this prestigious achievement which they can include on their college applications. 

Arjun RameshNicholas RondonAanya Roy

The selection of some 8,000 Merit Scholarship winners from the group of more than 15,000 Finalists is now in progress. Winners of Merit Scholarship awards will be chosen from the Finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments - without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.  


A variety of information is used to determine Merit Scholarship winners:  the Finalist’s academic record, information about the school’s curriculum and grading system, PSAT/NMSQT Selection Index score, the high school official’s written recommendation, information about the student’s activities and leadership, and the Finalist’s own essay.  


There are three types of Merit Scholarships awarded to the Finalists:  National Merit $2,500 Scholarship, Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship; and College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship. Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Competition will begin to be notified in March if they have received a Merit Scholarship award.  


Congratulations Arjun, Nicholas and Aanya!