Return to Headlines

Noetic Math Competition Winners


School District 308 Board of Education Recognizes Noetic Math Contest Winners

Oswego, Ill. (May 29, 2019) — At its May 13, 2019 meeting, the Oswego Community Unit School District 308 Board of Education recognized the top 12 overall students for having placed at the third annual 5th grade Noetic Math Competition held on Saturday, April 6. Students from all thirteen elementary schools participated in this district-wide contest sponsored by SD308, Caterpillar and Noetic Learning.  The competition’s main goal is to encourage students’ interest, to develop their problem solving skills and to inspire them to excel in math.

“Our district recognizes many students throughout the year and it is a real honor to recognize some of our future student leaders from our elementary schools,” said Dr. John Sparlin, superintendent of schools. “It is wonderful hear that our elementary students take part in such a great competition designed to challenge students’ problem solving abilities and celebrate mathematics.”

The board recognized the following individuals:


Overall Winners (tie):  

Matthew Simpson, Wolf’s Crossing Elementary School

Jedidiah Ogulei, The Wheatland’s Elementary School


The following students all finished in the Top 10 :

  • Elijah Gaston, Wolf’s Crossing Elementary School
  • Caleb Allgaier, Southbury Elementary School
  • Felix Pilny, Churchill Elementary School
  • Michael Maldonado, Old Post Elementary School
  • Dev Patel, Old Post Elementary School
  • Christopher Mason Jackson, Hunt Club Elementary School
  • Brayden Thompson, Southbury Elementary School
  • Liam Jackson, Homestead Elementary School
  • Ethan Schrader, Prairie Point Elementary School
  • Jason Reed Junior, Wolf’s Crossing Elementary School


Group of winners