Return to Headlines

Art Murals Dedicated by Oswego High and Oswego East High School Artists to Oswego Police Department

SD308 Community Unit School District

Media Alert
For immediate release

Contact: Theresa Komitas
Phone: (630) 636-3660



Art Murals Dedicated by Oswego High and
Oswego East High School Artists to
Oswego Police Department


Owego High School Mural at OPD      Oswego East High School Mural at OPD    


Oswego Police Department (OPD) Chief Jeff Burgner had a vision for the blank walls when the police station was being built.  He knew he wanted to collaborate with both high schools art departments to create pieces that would reflect a partnership between not only the police department and the Police Chef introducing murals schools but also the community.  The product of his vision was unveiled earlier this week as student artists, school and district representatives, OPD officers, and Village of Oswego leaders revealed two beautiful murals.

This process all started as an idea over a year ago. Staff from OPD met with students and staff at Oswego High School and Oswego East High School to share insights on how they serve the community and what that means to them.  The students took that information to design and create the beautiful murals. 


Oswego High School’s mural focuses on “unity”.  In the mural you will see both buildings represented on each side as well as the “O” for Oswego and the police badge.  The focus of the mural are the two hands coming together in the center in “unity”.


Oswego East High School’s mural has the theme of:  “Preserving the Past - Protecting the Future”.  When you look at their mural, you will notice that they have included Oswego’s old police station (the past) and they have also included a pack of Wolves with baby wolves (the future).


Both murals can be found near the training center entrance at the OPD.

Oswego East High Students with Mural  Oswego High School Student with Mural


Congratulations to the following individuals:  From Oswego High School:  Mike Skura, Fine Arts Department Chair; student artists:  Rebecca Schoolfield, Emily Dutton, Kayla Harrington, Jaime Rasmussen, and Sophia Allen.  From Oswego East High School:  Heather Stanich, Fine Arts Department Chair; as well as all of their student artists who contributed.