Return to Headlines

Commended Students Named in the 2020-21 National Merit Scholarship Competition

SD308 Community Unit School District


Media Alert
For immediate release

Contact: Theresa Komitas
Phone: (630) 608-5031


Commended Students Named in the 2020-21
National Merit Scholarship Competition


Oswego, Ill. (September 25, 2020) — Oswego Community Unit School District is proud to announce that the following students from Oswego East High School: Deshna Chitrarasu, Varun Rajesh, Nathaniel G. Tunggal, Sriya Veeramachaneni; and Charlotte Tiffany from Oswego High School have been named as Commended Students in the 66th annual 2020-21 National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) Program.


About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  Although  they will not continue in the 2021 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

"Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for NMSC.


''These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."


Mission Statement: In partnership with our families and communities, Community Unit School District 308 will educate all students to reach their highest potential.