Return to Headlines

Commended Students Named in the 2021-2022 National Merit Scholarship Competition

SD308 Community Unit School District

Media Alert
For immediate release

Contact: Theresa Komitas
Phone: (630) 608-5031


Commended Students Named in the 2021-2022
National Merit Scholarship Competition


Oswego, Ill. (September 22, 2021) — Oswego Community Unit School District is proud to announce the following students from Oswego East High School: Deepesh D. Balwani, Nicole Borras, Christopher J. Cetnar, Erin N. Hudson, Isaac M. Lee, Amelia R. Soriaga, Annika Srivastava, and from Oswego High School: John E. Dickinson and Alexander S. Peters have been named as Commended Students in the 67th annual 2021-2022 National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) Program.


These students entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test(PSAT/NMSQT®) offered in October 2020 and January 2021. In April, 50,000 of the highest scorers were identified and their high schools were notified. 


About 34,000 (of the 50,000 highest scorers) throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise as Commended Students.  Although  they will not continue in the 2022 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers who entered the 2022 competition.


"Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for NMSC. ''These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."


Congratulations to our students from both Oswego East and Oswego High School on this outstanding achievement.